Skip navigation

Last week, I downloaded a copy of Time On Earth, the ‘new’ Crowded House album. I like it, but I still hold to my belief that without Hessie, it’s not the Crowdies. The last few days, I’ve been trawling through my Crowded House CD collection. It’s extensive because they were one of the only bands where I followed them through their whole career and bought singles as well as albums. On YouTube, I started watching their videos as well. And it was there I found this.

It starts with an introduction about Paul Hester from the 2005 Aria awards. Then there’s Neil Finn’s rendition of the 1987 single “Better Be Home Soon”.

Somewhere deep inside
Something’s got a hold on you
And its pushing me aside
See it stretch on forever

I know I’m right
For the first time in my life
That’s why I tell you
You’d better be home soon

Stripping back the coats
Of lies and deception
Back to nothingness
Like a week in the desert

I know I’m right
For the first time in my life
Thats why I tell you
You’d better be home soon

So don’t say no, don’t say nothing’s wrong
Cos when you get back home maybe Ill be gone

It would cause me pain
If we were to end it
But I could start again
You can depend on it

I know I’m right
For the first time in my life
Thats why I tell you
You’d better be home soon
Thats why I tell you
You’d better be home soon

2 Comments

  1. I love Crowded House. They’re not nearly as popular here in the US as they are in Australia, but for me, they’re on of those bands I can listen to forever and not get tired of them. That video was awesome – thanks for posting it.

  2. I hadn’t seen that performance, that brought a huge lump to my throat. Thanks for finding it. And I agree – they’re not the same without Paul Hester. He was always my favourite. Though Neil gets kudos for singing the hell out of that song.


Leave a Reply

