Skip navigation

I don’t remember what prompted me to sign up to it. But I did, about a month ago. And for a while, I thought it was cool. Reminded me a bit of the old SixDegrees site. But like SixDegrees, it wore out its welcome, and now, I’m not all that keen, and I only go on there occasionally.

All those ‘applications’ on it just shit me really. And even though I’m on there as my blog-name, my cyber-name, I still think it’s a little too invasive. I guess I just don’t need it. Don’t need to play the game so many people there play – to treat it as a competition to see how many friends I have. On principle, I only add (or accept addition from) people I either know outside Cyberia or would actually have a drink with. So it’s not doing a lot for me.

Having said that though, I did renew contact with some people because of it. My old friend Princesss (who once found me via a previous incarnation of my blog too) and I have swapped messages because of Facebook. It’s not grabbing me though. God knows how some people get addicted to it. Seems there isn’t enough there to grab me.

5 Comments

  1. Yep, I over it too. It’s boring, peurile, and wears thin quickly. Just like MySpace.

  2. I’ve just signed up for Facebook, after ignoring “Friend Requests” for about 4 months.

    I think it has a lot of advantages over MySpace which really is full of puerile drivel. The key to using Facebook is to be selective in the choice of those “Applications”. I’m ignoring those which reproduce the worst aspects of MySpace.

    Friends are OK, but dividing them into “Top Friends”, “Super Friends”, “Friends most likely to…” is going way too far.

  3. In Facebook’s defence, they didn’t set out to make the most visually nauseating designs possble (a la My Space) but I still think it’s becoming a silly game of seeing how many friends you can have.

  4. After reading this, I spent a bit of time today getting to know my facebook better. I don’t hate it as much as I first thought.

  5. Crab, so did I. & I do.


Leave a Reply

