Skip navigation

pacificage.jpgOn the drive home this evening, I got a song stuck in my head. I probably haven’t heard it in years, but because I was obsessed with the band for a while back in the 1980s, I know the song well enough to know the words, the chords, even the key change. Somewhere, deep within my packed-away book collection, is even the sheet music. Since I don’t own an mp3 of it though, I had to come home and look it up on YouTube. I hope that cures me, or I’ll have to hit the video store this weekend for something of a Molly Ringwald binge. And that’s just too scary to contemplate.

So sit back, take your mind back to the 80s, and sing along with me.

If you leave, don’t leave now
Please don’t take my heart away
Promise me just one more night
Then we’ll go our separate ways
With hours left time on our sides
Now it’s fading fast
Every second every moment
We’ve got to–we’ve gotta make it last

I touch you once I touch you twice
I won’t let go at any price
I need you now like I needed you then
You always said we’d still be friends someday

If you leave I won’t cry
I won’t waste one single day
But if you leave don’t look back
I’ll be running the other way
Seven years went under the bridge
Like time was standing still
Heaven knows what happens now
You’ve got to–you’ve gotta say you will

I touch you once I touch you twice
I won’t let go at any price
I need you now like I needed you then
You always said we’d meet again

I touch you once I touch you twice
I won’t let go at any price
I need you now like I needed you then
You always said we’d still be friends

I touch you once I touch you twice
I won’t let go at any price
I need you now like I needed you then
You always said we’d meet again someday

If you leave
Oh if you leave
Oh if you leave
Don’t look back
Don’t look back

Sorry to everyone who gets it stuck there now 🙂

3 Comments

  1. yeah, you gotta watch Pretty in Pink again!

  2. Gianna,
    The day after I wrote this, the episode of Futurama that was on was about Fry needing to find his “Breakfast Club” soundtrack from old New York. Saving me from the need for a Molly Ringwald binge this weekend 🙂

  3. I got confused. I thought you meant Earwigs, and thought of an old favo of a band called The Dead Milkman.


Leave a Reply

