Skip navigation

rick-astley.jpgIn the last few days, after getting back to broadband, and catching up on a lot of blogs I used to read, it seems there’s a bit of Rick Astley worship going on across the blog-universe.

In 1988, when Astley was soaring up the charts, I was working midnight-dawn shifts at the local radio station. So I got to hear way too much Rick Astley. But I noticed something fascinating: if you play a Kylie Minogue 45 single at 33, it doesn’t sound “a bit like Rick Astley”, it IS Rick Astley. Understandable I guess, given they are both creations of the Stock Aitken Waterman production team. I began to think there was no way of proving what I was saying, but then I discovered this on YouTube. The presenter is speaking German, but you get a good demonstration of the effect.

One Comment

  1. Oh my god, the dancing.. Rick Astley’s dancing!

    Snoskred


Leave a Reply

