Skip navigation

A little while ago, a blogger I once linked to made me a suggestion. As well as his blog that I read, he had several others. One of them is all about web marketing, and something called “Search Engine Optimisation” – in other words, he writes a blog about how to boost your ratings with major search engines. Apparently there’s bunches of different tactics and strategies to maximise it. Presumably for ad revenue. In exchange for helping him research and write such articles, he’d give me a percentage of his ad revenue. I thought about it, but in the end, because I was focussed more on my hunting for a proper job, I declined. But it got me thinking, and reading a whole bunch of different blogs on blogs, writing, productivity tips and online marketing. Some of the marketing stuff especially strikes me as the kind of things I wish I’d known when I was managing bands and promoting them online. But ultimately, something like Search Engine Optimisation strikes me as a bit like futures traders – spending all your time dealing with ideas and concepts that aren’t “real”. I’m mildly interested in the ideas of who comes here and why, but to spend vast amounts of time fine-tuning a blog for marketing purposes would drive me insane I think.
I know some of you have done the whole “monetising” your blogs, or otherwise trying to make money online. And I’d like to hear more about your experiences with it. Feel free to share?

2 Comments

  1. Aurelius,

    if you are interested in this stuff, my suggestions are to:
    – read Christine’s blog at http://www.semfire.com.au/blog/
    – get a self-hosted blog (I can help there – for nix – contact me if you want to follow this option)
    – write shitloads of really good content
    – promote yourself through social media and other blogs
    – then… and only then, will you need to worry about making money 🙂

    I’m pretty happy – despite every other thing happening through the week, I made top 10 on google.com.au for a search on my name. It means that my shameless self promotion is working 🙂

    Cheers, Andrew

  2. Nah, I’m like you, I’m interested in who’s reading (and I love comments), but I’m not up for spending time worrying about/doing anything about it. I write it, that’s as far as I go.


Leave a Reply

