Skip navigation

ignatius.jpgLast year, while working in Jerusalem, DryEyedCrab and I used to swap novels – we’d read something and if it was good, the other would read it. That way, we could discuss the books we were reading with someone else, someone literate (an all-too-rare attribute in Jerusalem, or at least in the bit we worked in). One of the first books Crab got me to read was A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole. I wont go into a lot of detail about the book, but its central character – Ignatius Reilly – is a fantastically unique literary creation. Ignatius despairs of the world and modern culture. He attends the cinema every day in order to document the moral degradation he sees there. He writes to corporations to complain about everything imaginable and trivial. He exhibits hatreds of the most ridiculous things, including Greyhound buses. And he feels beseiged by modern society and likes to think he stands apart from all its flaws.
I say this because Crab & I recently discovered a blogger who we think is Ignatius. He uses a different name of course, but I’m pretty convinced he is Ignatius. Go check him out and you’ll see what I mean.

6 Comments

  1. O M G! I haven’t read the book in question but I did go read the blog….what a fascinating specimen….(to be nice) It was like a train wreck….I had to keep reading. I need to go bookmark him. How on earth did you find him?

  2. Hey! That’s me!

    I’m over half way through it now, it’s a pretty cool read, I can’t believe I never heard about this book sooner. Upon reflection, there is a great number of similarities (apart from him being a prick to his mum!). I wear my Ignatius comparison with pride. 🙂

    Now that you mention hatred of ridiculous things, I remembered I loathe the town in the south of WA called Denmark. In a scary coincidence, I have been looking for a place to get one of those silly hats with flaps.

  3. sclozza, you can get a flappy hat at Army disposable stores. They have a range….

  4. I’m happy sclozza appreciates the comparison. The jury is still out as to whether or not it’s a compliment though 😉

    If you’re reading sclozza, you really should get one of those hats. And a Myrna. You need a Minkoff Mynx!!!!!!

  5. Comparison with Pulitzer winning character, I’ll take it 🙂

  6. So glad to meet people who did like this crazy ( not so crazy)and
    hilarious novel!!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] the first thing I must say is a big thanks to Aurelius for the link. Oh Fortuna, I feel kind of famous! I feel compelled to say that the internet swear word project, […]

Leave a Reply

