Skip navigation

This week for YouTube Sunday, I’m returning once more to a song. Australian readers will know the song, and the performers, but may not have seen the combination. For the overseas readers, I’ll give a bit of background.

This song is, I think, the greatest love song ever written in this country. It originally came out in the 80s, done by Hunters & Collectors, an Aussie pub-band whose version made some impact, but, like some of the greatest songs, didn’t receive the success it deserved. Over the years though, through countless renditions in thousands of pubs, it became an anthem for many. It’s a song about a final encounter. I always used to think it was a one-night stand, but I now consider it to be about a couple who are seeing each other for the final time and, as the lyric says:

We may never meet again
So shed your skin and lets get started
And you will throw your arms around me

As Mark Seymour said of this song:

Love songs are hard enough to pull off tastefully. The strength of Arms is in its honesty, and a very simple hooky chorus. Other than that there isn’t much else to say. It’s personal. Hunters played it with great force and conviction.

I’ve thought for a while now that someone really should compile the different version of this song. I’ve heard brilliant versions by Neil Finn, Crowded House, Pearl Jam, Paul McDermott, several never-to-be-known-of pub bands, and several versions by Mark Seymour and of course Hunters & Collectors.

This version though is by the Doug Anthony All Stars. At a tribute concert several years ago. DAAS reunited for this gig. And this video is the best thing to come out of that gig. Plus of course, it’s introduced by my hero, Mikey Robins.

Here tis…..

I will come for you at night time
I will raise you from your sleep
I will kiss you in four places
I’ll go running along your street
I will squeeze the life out of you
You will make me laugh and make me cry
We will never forget it
You will make me call your name and I’ll shout it to the blue summer sky

We may never meet again
So shed your skin and lets get started
And you will throw your arms around me

I dreamed of you at night time
And I watched you in your sleep
I met you in high places
I touched your head and touched your feet
So if you disappear out of view
You know, I will never say goodbye
Though I try to forget it
You will make me call your name and I’ll shout it to the blue summer sky

We may never meet again
So shed your skin and lets get started
And you will throw your arms around me
Yeah you will throw you arms around me

This is for the one I’m leaving behind. 😥

7 Comments

  1. Great song. Great version.
    *sigh*
    Love the DAAS.

  2. I listened to the Paul McDermott / Fiona Horne version a lot too :o)

  3. This particular song always brings a tear to my eye.

    I hope, that I never have to apply that song to the relationship i have now, because it certainly is worthy.

  4. … and thanks for sharing this w/me recently. =)

  5. Lil, it’s the greatest love song my culture has ever produced. I think it’s a tragedy that foreigners are unaware of it.

  6. I’m listening to Mix1065 on the internet all day ish and heard this song quite a few times. I Googled some of words and there’s your blog! Nice

  7. Just so you know – you can get the Eddie Vedder/Mark Seymour Live in Perth 23/02/2003 version on iTunes. It’s a shame they didn’t leave the introduction in, but the song is still good.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Top Posts Advice Sought?Water Water Everywhere….BlogSwappingWho is Aurelius?We May Never Meet Again…. […]

  2. […] Posts We May Never Meet Again….EarWormsStepping Onto A PathElection SilenceWho is […]

Leave a Reply

