Skip navigation

afk.gifThose of you who know the story of the May Massacre of last year might be surprised to read where I am. I’m in the AFK cafe in Jerusalem. Just down the street from the ‘Gabba. I had two and a half hours to kill between work and a talk I’m attending tonight. And to go home would have been a waste, so I decided to go looking for somewhere to fill in a couple of hours, and my net connection at home hasn’t been ideal lately, so this place seemed the logical choice.

Willett and Ozbhoy have done a good job with this place. The food is quite good, the pasta I had could have been a bit spicier, but Jewish cuisine is tamer than I am used to in Rome. The layout, the computers, the atmosphere, the decor, are all quite nice, and relaxing. As I type, about 4 of the dozen PCs are occupied. And a couple of the cafe tables are occupied by guys playing board games. Willett describes the place as a ‘computer cafe’ rather than a net-cafe, and I think the distinction is a good one.
I think it was a good decision to come here this afternoon. By being the one to walk thru their door, I am declaring an absence of hostility toward Willett & Ozbhoy, which I think is the best atttiude to have. I’m not going to re-hash the events of last year, but the guys were more caught up in it, rather than being active participants. So by coming here, I’m expelling those demons which have haunted the last year. Although this sounds much like an advertorial, I am here more because of me than because of them.

Disclaimer: Rather than telling people about this for payment, I’ve done the opposite. I paid for my dinner and my time at the cafe.

4 Comments

  1. I don’t know the story, and got a bit confused about the Jerusalem thing and the Gabba. 😉 But it seems like it’s a thing in the past now, maybe not worth rehashing it just for me who is a little lost. 😉

    Snoskred
    http://snoskred.blogspot.com/

  2. dear snoskred it’s all in code…you sort of get used to it after a while if you stick around that long 😉

    but on subject of cafe….glad to hear it’s going ok for them

  3. I confused, and I want details coz I a busy body

  4. Ditto dryeyedcrab.. I want details because I am a nosy bitch.


Leave a Reply

