Skip navigation

So there I was, browsing at the local video store, and I saw a movie sitting on the shelf – Black Dahlia. I’d remembered seeing the shorts for this in the cinema last year, so I thought I’d get it. I didn’t remember anything about it, just the name rang a bell.

Unfortunately, I’d been conned.

scarlett_johansson_300x400.jpgYou see, in 2006, two movies were released with the same title. One, starring Josh Hartnett and the divine Scarlett Johansson, was the one I’d seen the shorts for. It’s about a murder of a young actress that took place in 1947.
The other is a piece of shit. Unmitigated crap. The worst movie I have ever seen in my life, even if I only watched about the first fifteen minutes of it. On IMDB, it’s reviewer described it as “Unbelievably atrocious cheap garbage”. When I watched it, I thought it was the worst acted movie I’d ever seen. It exists purely to exploit the market it’d gotten with me – people who were intending to watch the real movie, but who got this shit by mistake.

I’m posting this as a warning. To everyone who might accidentally hire this awful piece in error. I intend watching the real one next week.

[Edit: while at the same video store, I also noticed another “duplicate” movie with the same name as a credible film – maybe this video store are big believers in this kind of twin-title peddling?]

One Comment

  1. The worst movie I ever saw was called Boxing Helena….we’d invited a friend around for dinner and a movie and that was what my girlfriend had randomly grabbed off the shelf at the video store:
    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0106471/

    The friend in question had recently had a labotomy to cure his Epilepsy and become a strident born-again christian. At the end of the film he got up and walked out of the house without a word. We never heard from him again.

    Very effective for getting rid of unwanted guests but absolute agony to have to sit through.


Leave a Reply

